Croydon led by Conservative Mayor, no party wins overall majority

Croydon Council will be led by a Conservative Mayor with no party winning the overall majority of council seats in the local elections 2022.

The results of Croydon’s mayoral election were announced on Saturday morning, when Jason Perry (CON) became Croydon’s first directly-elected mayor and the political leader of the council.

Following local ward counts on Saturday night and Sunday, the council is now made up of 34 Labour councillors, 32 Conservative councillors, two Green councillors and one Liberal Democrat councillor.

There is one vacancy on the council, as Jason Perry was elected as a councillor in South Croydon ward but cannot take up the position since becoming Mayor of Croydon. There will be a by-election for this seat in due course.

This is the first time that Croydon has had Green councillors and the first time since 2002 that a Liberal Democrat councillor has been elected.

Counting for the local ward elections commenced on Saturday night and the final ward, Fairfield, was declared at 19.19 on Sunday 8 May. Voter turnout was 35%. This means 97,458 people voted in Croydon’s elections, making it one of the largest local election counts in London.

All of the results have been counted and verified, and the elected members for each ward can be viewed in full on the council’s election webpages.

2022-10-24T16:12:00+01:00 May 8th, 2022|Recent news|