Council completes 20mph limit scheme

Croydon is now a full 20mph borough after its fifth and final area went live today (Monday 12 March).

The new speed limit applies to all streets in Purley, Woodcote, Kenley, Coulsdon and Old Coulsdon, plus the parts of Sanderstead and South Croydon that sit west of both Brighton Road and Sanderstead Hill / Limpsfield Road.

The new Area 5, which is detailed in a map on the council website, extends as far north as Duppas Hill Road, east to Sanderstead Hill, and Croydon’s borders with Tandridge and Sutton mark the area’s southern and western limits. Croydon roads to the east of Sanderstead Hill mark Area 4, which went live in January.

The exceptions to the new 20mph limit in Area 5 that will remain at 30mph are private roads, Transport for London red routes and several Croydon A-roads. These include Chipstead Valley Road, Godstone Road, Coulsdon Road, Plough Lane and Farthing Way.

In 2015 the council divided the borough into five areas and began introducing 20mph after making the scheme an administration priority. Area 1 in the north went live in September 2016, Area 2 in the north-east went live in March 2017, and the north-west area’s 20mph limit began in November.

According to the Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents, 20mph limits reduce vehicle speeds and cut the risk of being injured or killed in an accident. Other London councils, including Islington and Southwark, already have borough-wide 20mph schemes.

All roads in Area 5 covered by the new speed limit have 20mph signs, and drivers caught speeding by police can expect fines, points on their licence or prosecution. The council will monitor traffic speeds within the 20mph roads, and if speeding remains an issue options could include police enforcement as well as traffic calming measures.

“Slower speeds mean safer streets and a better environment for our residents, so I am very proud that we have delivered on our council commitment to introduce this 20mph limit all across Croydon.”

Councillor Stuart King, cabinet member for transport and environment

2021-08-20T15:45:55+01:00 March 12th, 2018|Recent news|